Rationale behind Astrology

Astrology is highly debated subject for centuries. Some people and culture and religions closely follow astrology as part of their faith and some others do not. In this blog entry, I am trying to explain the basis or the rationale behind the judgments made by any astrologer. I try to explain this on the basis of the Bhavas or the houses system in the science of astrology.


In the study of astrology nothing is more important, more difficult and more taxing than the proper judgment of a horoscope. It is the innate responsibility of the astrologer to make the right judgment of the horoscope.  The twelve Bhavas or houses represent the entire history and possibilities of future of the individual. In order to analyse a horoscope properly and thoroughly each house or Bhava should be carefully scrutinized. Sometimes it so happens that many of the principles of astrology given in even standard works do not hold good in actual charts. In such circumstances, conclusion should not be drawn that the principles of astrology are contradictory. On the other hand, a further analysis of the relations and interrelations of planets should be made. An astrologer need to remember that he need to observe the event in the past to understand the patterns and then work on the future possibilities.


Astrology is the most difficult of all sciences. It is neither a physical science in the sense that physics or chemistry is; nor is it metaphysical. The precision of mathematics should be harmoniously combined with the intuitive capacity of the astrologer. Like tarot card reading or ruins or any other divination, astrology not have any hard and fast rules that can be laid down for guidance, except the broad principles. In order to examine a horoscope a good deal of judgment is required.


The twelve houses in any horoscope helps any astrologer to judge different areas of one's life. For instance, the first house represents the body while the fourth rules the mother. The rationale of this allocation is still a mystery. The ancient Maharishis must have had in view some scientific basis for the allocation of all the events of human life to the twelve Bhavas or houses. For me, I started to trust this Bhavas or house pattern, after testing it for hundred percent accuracy on the birth charts I read in my close family and friends.


It must be noted that the twelve houses have reference to the material relation of Jeeva (soul) in its journey from the cradle to the grave. According to one explanation, the ancient Hindu day was divided into twelve sections of five ghatis each and each section was devoted to certain definite duties of the daily routine of living.


1 day = 60 ghatis
1 hour = 2 (1/2) ghatis
A day can be divided into 12 periods or 12 houses based on the ghatis. Each house or a period is equal to 5 ghatis.


 The day started just about, or a few ghatis (5 ghatis) before sunrise.
From this time until sunrise the activities were purely personal. Hence the first house became the personal house.  As the birth gives rise to all the incidents and results to be experienced in our terrestrial life, the ascendant or Lagna, which is their significator, points to the conditions of life on earth. The second half of the day (amongst ancient Hindus) commenced with the seventh period of five ghatis (after the setting in of evening). This period was always a period of amusement and relaxation of oneself. This is the time for oneself to meet his or her partner after day long of hard work in the fields outside the home. Hence the 7th house came to be associated with wife and partner. The house opposite the ascendant must be one with which to form a pair and therefore the seventh house is attributed to wife.

These are some principles or rationales based on which the boundaries or significance of the Bhavas or houses were designed by the great ancient Maha rishis. These principle not only help the astrologer to understand which part of the horoscope he needs to examine for a particular question but also these principles helps him to develop a sense of accurate intuition.

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Best Astrologer in Australia (Tuesday, 23 October 2018 03:24)

    Thanks for sharing such a good Blog