Basics Of Vedic Astrology – part 2



The 27 Nakshatras


You may first read Basics of Vedic Astrology Part 1


The zodiac is divided into 27 Nakshatras, each of identical size. The first one is called Ashwini, and the others follow from there and last is Revati. The very same zodiac is also divided in a different way: into 12 Rashis (zodiacal signs). Out of the 12 signs, the one that is rising in the East at the time of birth is of particular importance. It is called Lagna (Ascendant) and it is used as the main point of reference in analyzing the chart.


For example, if in your chart, the Lagna is Capricorn, and then Saturn, the lord of Saturn is very important in your life. The Nakshatra rising in the East is also important. For example, in your chart, that is Uttarashadha. Then you will have the follow skills / attributes very dominant in your life.


Dasha ruler : Sun

Symbol : the tusk of an elephant

Deity : the ten Visvadevas (sons of Dharma and goddess Vishva)

Rulership : Elephant drivers, wrestlers, elephants, horses, devotees of gods, immovable things like trees, warriors, persons enjoying pleasures, and men of valor.

Moon in Uttarashadha : the person is gentle, humble, obedient, religious, has many friends, is grateful and beautiful.


Attributes : Spread from 26’40″ Dhanu to 10’00″ of Makara. Lord is Guru and Shani.

The derivatives from Uttarashadha are closely allied to those of Poorbashadha. The points of difference are as follows.  Poorbashadha spreads out, it is concerned with extensiveness. Uttarashadha  is introspective and penetrative and is concerned with intensiveness, the results of the latter being more permanent than the former (Poorbashadha). The deity who preserves this world and makes for its welfare is called ‘ganadevata’ or Vishwadevatas. There are ten ganadevatas Basu, Satya, Kratu, Daksha, Kala, Kama, Dhriti, Kuru, Pururaba, Madraba. All their attributes are in this star. The warrior, the wrestler, the painter, the artist, the magician, the well-dressed man, the happy and successful men are influenced by this star. A special characteristic of it is that it causes a person to be admired and socially applauded. Bhishma of the Mahabharata was one of the 8 Basus; so under this star one possesses self-control, restraint, endurance and firm character.



The grahas (planets) are constantly moving through the Zodiac. The circle of the Zodiac is divided into 12 equal segments called constellations or rashis (signs).  Each rashi (sign) occupies 30 degrees of the celestial space. Each of the rashis (signs) has a unique set of attributes that affect any graha (planet) traveling through that sign. The signs are environments that affect the way a planet feels and behaves. Here are the 12 rashis (signs) listed in their natural order:

The Sun and the Moon rule over one sign each, while the rest of the grahas hold rulership over two signs. Traditionally, Rahu and Ketu are considered not to hold rulership over any signs, although, some astrologers consider Rahu and Ketu to co-rule the signs of Aquarius and Scorpio respectively. The sign rulerships are a permanent value.


ARIES (Mesha) is ruled by Mars.

TAURUS (Vrishabha) is ruled by Venus.

GEMINI (Mithuna) is ruled by Mercury.

CANCER (Karka) is ruled by the Moon.

LEO (Simha) is ruled by the Sun.

VIRGO (Kanya) is ruled by Mercury.

LIBRA (Tula) is ruled by Venus.

SCORPIO (Vrishika) is ruled by Mars.

SAGITTARIUS (Dhanu) is ruled by Jupiter.

CAPRICORN (Makara) is ruled by Saturn.

AQUARIUS (Kumbha) is ruled by Saturn.

PISCES (Meena) is ruled by Jupiter.


The 12 BhavasThe Zodiac is divided in one more way. Relative to the position of the Earth, the zodiac is divided into 12 bhavas  (houses).  Just as the proper motion of planets is reflected by their degree positions in rashis (signs), the diurnal (illusionary, relative motion of the planets as perceived from the Earth) motion of the planets is shown by their placement in astrological houses. The houses represent the various areas of life. The planets and signs that occupy the corresponding bhavas (houses) will affect those areas of life.


The twelve bhavas (houses) represent the totality of the existence as experienced by a human being. Here are the main significations of each house:


The First House represents the Self.

The Second House represents your financial assets.

The Third House represents courage.

The Fourth House represents happiness.

The Fifth House represents your children.

The Sixth House represents your enemies.

The Seventh House represents your spouse.

The Eighth House represents your vulnerable points.

The Ninth House represents your fortune.

The Tenth House represents your career.

The Eleventh House represents your income.

The Twelfth House represents the end of everything.


So far, we have briefly covered the general principles of the three main components of Jyotish: the Grahas (Planets), the Rashis (signs), and the Bhavas (Houses). The positions of the planets in the signs and houses are depicted in what is called the Horoscope. Evaluation and understanding of the interactive influences of these three main elements constitutes the interpretation of your horoscope.

Write a comment

Comments: 0