Classification of various houses in a natal chart through Vedic Astrology

Vedic Astrology can help you to describe your life at so many levels, the ancient seers/rishis like Parashara, Jamini and many more  have made several classifications in a natal chart to explain so many aspects of one's life. These aspects can be like Dharma, Artha, material wealth, physical support, career, desires, matter of life and death and moksha. In this article I have tried to compile many such classifications for you to understand basics of Vedic Astrology.

 The Dharma houses


Houses 1, 5 and 9 are the Dharma houses. Those houses are related with the sense of duty, mission in life, the way the soul progresses in the spiritual evolution, the philosophy of life, religion, spirituality, type of worship, spiritual teachers and learning, honesty and moral values. Those are considered the most auspicious houses, since following dharma or duty brings "good luck" due to good karma. These houses show the good karma from the past and how it affects this present life.


Planets placed on those houses as well as the houses they rule tend to prosper and be favorable to the native and also indicate the way the person progresses spiritually in life and creates good karma for the future.

 The Artha houses


Houses 2, 6, and 10 are the Artha houses. Artha relates to the material and physical support of life. They relate to the prosperity, wealth, work, material success and recognition.
The 2 nd house relates mostly with wealth in general, family wealth or wealth that comes without an effort.


The 6 th house represents the capacity to do an effort and work hard to get what you need, and the possible obstacles in life and capacity to overcome them.


The 10 th house represents the success in career, status or position in society, name and fame.

The Kama Houses


Houses 3, 7 and 11 are the Kama houses, related to the desires and the possibility to fulfill them.
The 3 rd house relates mainly with personal ambitions and motivations.


The 7 th house represents mainly the sexual desire and attraction to the opposite sex and the desire to have close committed relationships and partnerships.


The 11 th house relates more with the desire for money, gain and possession of the desired objects. It also relates with the desire to enjoy friendship and social relationships.
The Moksha houses


Houses 4, 8 and 12 th are the Moksha houses.

Those houses relate with the liberation from the material bondage, and from the creation of Karma and attachment. Moksha is the highest goal of life, the return to the source from where the soul came from, to attain absolute illumination and freedom. That requires detaching and letting go the material world and thoughts for the full immersion into the spiritual consciousness.


The 4 th house relates with the path of devotion or Bhakti, surrender of the heart (opening of the heart chakra) and sublimation of the emotions to God and the experience of cosmic love.


The 8 th house relates to the destruction of the spiritual ignorance and purification from previous "papas" or bad karmas and awakening of the Kundalini energy, the spiritual power which brings the capacity to control and have mastery over the mind and conquer death.


The 12 th house represents the complete surrender of the Ego and sense of individuality to God, detachment from the material possessions; it is the path of renunciation, seclusion, monkhood and surrender.


The Kendra houses


Houses 1, 4, 7, and 10 are the Kendra or "angular" houses.


They represent the strength of the chart and life as a whole, and give the capacity to achieve the desired goals. Planets placed in those houses are strong and have a capacity to express their energy fully. Benefic planets placed here are very supportive and add to the longevity and success in life, while malefics can cause a great deal of difficulties.


The 10 th house is considered the strongest and planets placed here tend to dominate the whole chart and can sometimes be even more predominant than the ascendant on their effect in life and personality.

The trikona houses


Houses 1, 5, and 9 are the trikona or trine houses. They correspond to the Dharma houses and are the houses of good luck, success, wisdom and knowledge. Planets planets placed in these houses prosper and if benefics are placed here then the benefic planet brings good luck and good opportunities in life due to past and present good actions and moral character.

 The Upachaya houses


Houses 3, 6, 11 and 10 are the upachaya houses or "houses of growth". Planets placed in those houses tend to grow and improve over time. The malefic planets placed here (specially on 3,6 and 11) are a great help to overcome all sort of difficulties in life.

The Dushtana houses


This I have explained in my ealier blog where I explained natural benefics and malefics for each ascendant sign; houses 6, 8 and 12 are the dushtana houses, or houses of suffering and difficulties. The 3 rd house is also be considered as a dushtana, but with a milder effect (the 3 rd is the 8 th from the 8 th).


Those houses are adverse for the material prosperity and well being and planets placed in those houses and the houses they rule tend to suffer, be obstructed and be sources of pain in life. The people or parts of the body that the planets placed on those houses represent, will tend to be a source of pain.


If the planets paced here are exalted or in own house it is actually beneficial and give the capacity to endure, or overcome pain and difficulties.


The 6 th house relates with obstacles, diseases, accidents, enemies, and debt. The 8 th house relates with obstruction, death, darkness or depression. The 12 th house relates to loss, separation, endings.


In spite of that, they are also important houses for spiritual growth and if they are strong and well disposed the represent the capacity to practice Yoga and liberate from pain.

 The Panapara houses


Houses 2,5,8 and 11 are the Panapara or "succedent" houses.Those houses correspond in meaning to the fixed signs, related with stability, preservation, income and material security. Planets placed on these houses are considered moderate in strength. The 8 th house can bring wealth through inheritances or wills but it is also a dushtana house, capable of bringing negative results as well.
The Apoklima houses


Houses 3,6,9 and 12 are called the Apoklima or cadent houses. Planets placed on these houses are considered weak or not very powerful. Those houses correspond in meaning to the dual signs.


Among them, the 9 th house is the best since it is also a dharma house and planets placed here are strong and tend to bring good luck. The 12 th house is considered the weakest one and planets placed here have difficulty to express their energy in the material concrete level, but they can be good for the spiritual advancement.

The Maraka houses


The 2 nd and 7 th house are called the Maraka or "killer" houses, and have the capacity to cause death or disease. Usually the death o a person is during the Maha Dasha or Antar dasha and/or transits of a planet placed or associated with those houses or the ruler of those houses. The ruler of the 8 th , 12 th and 3 rd houses or planets placed on those houses are also capable of causing death.

Write a comment

Comments: 0