Karakas In Jaimini System of astrology


Karakas according to thc scheme of Jaimini vary with regard to each horoscope. This feature is of great significance. Any ptanet can acquire any karakatwa or lordehip, as the basis for determining the karaka is merely the lonlitude of a planet reckoned from tbe beginning of the sign concerned. There are 7 main karakas in Jaimini:

1) Atma,
2) Amatya,
3) Bhratru,
4) Matru,
5) Putra,
6) Gnathi
7) Dara.

The chief or prime-lord or indicator is all important. The planet having the highest longitude in a sign becomes the Atmakaraka. The strength or weakness of the Atmakaraka seems to reflect the general strength or weakness of the entire horoscope, so that the position of the Atmakaraka is very important. The natural Atmakaraka is however Ravi or the Sun who represents the Father in the natal chart.

The next in importance is the Amatyakaraka. Devoid of the signs, the planet who gets the next greatest number of degrees becomes the Amatyakaraka or the sublord. There is no naisargi karaka (natural or permanent) Amatyakaraka but we may assume Budha or Mercury to be as such.

The planet whose longitude is next to that of Amatya karaka becomes the lord of brothers. All events pertaining to brothers and sisters have to be read from Bhratrukaraka. Kuja or Mars is the naisarg kakaraka for brothers.

The lord of mother is the planet that gets the next highest number of degrees in a sign. Chandra or the Moon is however the natural karaka of mother.

The lord of children is the planet that gets the next largest number of degrees devoid of the signs. The natural or naisargika indicator of this horoscopic function is Guru or Jupiter.

The planet whose longitude is less than that of putrakaraka becomes the lord of relations. The natural karaka or indicator for Gnathis or cousins and relations is Kuja or Mars.

The lord of wife (or husband) is the one whose longitude is last. The natural karaka is Sukra or Venus.

Exceptions to the above rules in the Jaimi Karaka system

There are certain exceptions to the general rule governing Karaka determination. Sometimes two or more planets may occupy the same degree of longitude, so that they may have to share the same lordship. A contingency like this rarely occurs but it cannot be entirely ruled out.

Under such an exceptional circumstance, when two or three planets have to share the same lordship, a few lordships become vacant and these have to be filled up by Rahu and the other natural Karakas.


Supposing Ravi (Sun) is the Bhratrukaraka and Chandra (Moon) and Kuja (Mars) have the same longitude. Then all the three planets become Bhratrukarakas. This means that the Karaka was, which Chandra and Kuja should have got, fall vacant. If in the above instance, Matru and Putrakarakas become vacant on account of Chandra and Kuja sharing Ravi's functions, then Rahu becomes Matrukaraka and Guru, the natural lord of children, becomes the Putrakaraka.

Write a comment

Comments: 0